The Ninth Candle

9 Jan

The Ninth Candle..

During the Feast of Hanukkah, the Jewish people light the menorah, the nine branch lampstand. The problem is, there are eight days of Hanukkah – but nine candles on the menorah.

What is the ninth candle? It is the Shamash. The Shamash is the Candle that is lit first and lights up every other candle. And what does the word Shamash mean?

It means – The Servant. The Hebrew prophets called Messiah the Servant. Jesus is the SHAMASH, the Light that lights up all the others. So it is written of Him, “He is the true Light that gives light to every man.”

But for the Shamash to light up the other candles, it must literally touch them. So the key is this: Don’t just look at Him or just know of Him – let Him touch you, truly touch you, and your life won’t be able to help but become a shining light.

He isn’t only the light, He is the Shamash Light, the light that lights up by touching. Let your shamash light, light up every part of your life, and your life will as well shine as blazing light.

In him was life, and that life was the light of all mankind. John 1:4

Today ask the Lord to help you shine His light through you by touching somebody’s life who is in need.

Walk daily with God at your side!

Love always,


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: